A Garden’s Time Piece: Poems by Leslie Laskey 2011, 13′

sop, vn 

Commissioned by The Columbia Foundation

Available from Subito Music

Today’s the Day
April Rain
There are glories
The end of summer
There is a madness
A feather pierces the snow
Oak leaves sit in snow / Today’s the day (reprise)

Performed by:
Jessica Petrus, soprano
Jacob Ashworth, violin

A Garden’s Time Piece was commissioned for artist/poet Leslie Laskey’s ninetieth birthday.  Using two voices, soprano and violin, I really enjoyed a streamlined, elemental approach to setting his simple but evocative lines of life and love across time and space.  The voice of the violin sings the underlying emotional complexity, the subtext, of the soprano’s deceptively simple lines.